Portrait of the University

Portrait of the University



University of Bihać is a public institution which organizes and conducts university study programmes and research activites, provides expertise and develops creativity in the areas of science, technology, humanities and art. The seat of the University is in Bihać, at Pape Ivana Pavla II 2/2. It was founded on 28 July 1997. Yet, the roots of higher education in Bihać go back to the 1970s. A branch of Higer Technical School from Karlovac was opened in 1970. In 1975, Mechanical Engineering Department was founded at Higer Technical School in Bihać, while the Textile Department was started in 1979. Higher School of Economy was also opened in 1979. Teacher Training Academy was founded in 1993, and Islamic Pedagogical Academy two years leater.

Today, University of Bihać has seven faculties: Biotechnical Faculty, Faculty of Economics, Islamic Pedagogical Faculty, Pedagogical Faculty, Law Faculty, Technical Faculty and Faculty of Health Studies which offer 30 different study programmes.

So far, 4935 students finished their studies at the University of Bihać, 3954 at two-year programmes and 981 at four-year programmes. In the academic year of 2017/2018 a total of 3057 enrolled at the University of Bihać. The University has 15827 square metres of useful facilities for the students and 145 members of academic staff.